Go Back

Neil Young

Hitchhiker CD + Hi Res Download



Recorded between ‘Zuma’ and ‘American Stars and Bars’ as a solo album in a single session, the resultant performances are truly breathtaking and passionate. The simplicity of a single voice and guitar captured here are as pure and powerful as it gets, with only Young, Briggs and actor Dean Stockwell in the room at the time of recording. A few of the songs would not appear on vinyl until years later. Some have never been heard, included in the original sessions for Neil Young and Crazy Horse’s ‘Dume’, another unreleased record of original sessions that yielded the classic album, ‘Zuma’. When the ‘Hitchhiker’ album was recorded, none of the included songs had ever been released and many of the performances of the songs were the first ever. This is truly an album of original performances.

Artist: Neil Young
Release date: 9/8/2017
Produced by: David Briggs
Musicians: Neil Young: guitar, harmonica, vocals

Track Listing:

1. Pocahontas
2. PowderFinger
3. Captain Kennedy
4. Hawaii
5. Give Me Strength
6. Ride My Llama
7. Hitchhiker / Like An Inca V1
8. Campaigner
9. Human Highway
10. The Old Country Waltz